RSS

Kira’s Number 8: Baldy’s Pizza

02 Jun

The window to Baldy's Pizzeria, featuring a traffic lightThe Place: Baldy’s Pizza
This makes 2 pizza joints in a row. Going to this one after Austin Riley’s could only be a let down. To get to this place you go south on Walnut, and keep going. I hadn’t been that far south on Walnut. I didn’t even know there was anything there, and now I know that there really isn’t anything worth going to down there.

The Time:
Friday, May 12th, 2006, Approx. 8:30 pm

The Atmosphere:

I don’t know why it amused me, but Baldy’s is in a little strip mall next to a used car lot and a vacuum repair shop. Inside, it’s pretty much a typical little pizza joint, but the best part is that there was a foosball table! Kira playing foosball at Baldy's PizzeriaActually, the table kinda sucked, it’s warped so that the you can hit the ball with the head of your player, but it was still a good way to kill time until the pizza was done. (Erik kicked my ass, by the way).
There was also a big screen TV playing the second X-Men movie, as it was the week before the 3rd one came out. There was a huge fish tank, and a big fridge with soda and other supplies in it. Even though there was enough seating for 20-30 people, you could tell that it was mostly a delivery/take out place.


The Food:

We ordered a pizza and some bread sticks. They have a special of 6 breadsticks, 2 dipping sauces, and a large 1 topping pizza for some amount of money, so we got that. The breadsticks were pretty good, although it’s pretty hard to mess up breadsticks. Half sausage, half pineapple pizza at Baldy's PizzeriaWe got the tomato sauce and the garlic butter sauce. Both were served cold, which wasn’t too bad, but they both would have been better warmed up.

We ordered the pizza half sausage for Erik and half pineapple for me. Let me just say that they are VERY liberal with the toppings. For my side, it was fine as I think that most places don’t put enough pineapple on a pineapple pizza. But on the sausage side you could barely see the cheese.
It was the crumbled kind of sausage, and that half of the pizza was literally covered in it. Maybe if you really like sausage, you would like this pizza, but it was too much for Erik. The pizza was just ok. The crust was a little too crispy for me, but it’s hard to screw up pizza so bad that I won’t eat it. It was edible, but nothing special. And the leftover pizza was typical leftover pizza.

The Service:
A high school or college-aged girl worked the register, and there were some guys in the back making the pizza. There was nothing memorable about them, except that they seemed busy even though the restaurant was fairly empty. I think they must do a decent delivery business.

Fish at Baldy's PizzeriaThe Price:
I think it was like $13 for pizza and bread sticks. Not too bad. (Price seems to be the same these days. -Erik, May 2014)

The Rest:
Overall it was pretty generic. I’d choose Baldy’s over, say, Domino’s, but not much else.

How often would I go back?
Every 7 months.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment